The Gardens Web catches all kinds of flotsam and jetsam.  Its a never-know-what-you’ll-find-on-the-beach kind of day.

I just put in some second garden before the next summer rains come through. Climbing beans, japanese cukes, okra, dill, and rhubarb chard.  Like the trellis? July2,2016 005 They are parts of an old metal bunk bed, and some porch edging the neighbor gave me.  I’m not thrilled with black in the high summer, but we’ll see how that comes out.  I usually don’t think far enough ahead to remember trellis until the beans are threatening world domination.  I’m really pushing the envelope here: two plants ( beans and cukes) that are beloved of the same pests.  Ooooo. I’ll be jumping out of planes or climbing Everest next.

Flotsam and Jetsam                                                                                                                                             When you plant squash ( which you really should right now, if you haven’t yet.  When your first batch tuckers out, the new one will be all ready to go)…ehem… when you plant squash, plant a circle of radish seeds around your squash seed.  The theory is that the smell of the radish disguises the smell of the little zucchini plant.   Pests don’t bother it until is a bigger, producing plant. Dont pull the mature radishes, either.  Let them go to seed and you will draw a huge number of beneficial insects that you reallllly want in your garden.   In my experience this is a good tip.  It works every year I use it.

While we are talking about squash, you may have problems with squash vine borers.  I do here.This is a good basic link.  There’s one trick that works well to ensure you get a good squash harvest that I don’t see many places.  Its simple, too.  When your vines start to lengthen, cover it with soil or mulch every foot or so.  The vine roots under the cover.  Even if the borer attacks with cruel intent, you have lots of roots to sustain your harvest. Because a summer without summer squash would be a crime.

It time to start thinking about garlic.  Garlic gets planted in the fall around here in central Indiana.  I usually aim for late October.( Check with your local Extension Office for the right time in your area.) I’ll get more detailed on that later, but for right now, plan where you’ll put those nuggets of goodness, what kind you want to grow, and where you’ll get them from.  You can consider this a one time purchase and save the best cloves from year to year to replant.  Garlic variety Music has been a part of my garden for 6 years, and an Elephant Garlic I bought at my local box store has been going strong for 5.July2,2016 003

That garlic ( there, in the middle) is nearly ready for harvest.  To the far left is a healthy clump of Ironweed (Vernonia ssp), to the right and in back is horseradish.  On a hot day, I can smell it all over the garden.  YUM.  In between and in front are volunteer potatoes from last year.  And some dock I left is going to seed in the front right. The potatoes will come out when I dig the garlic, and that space will be planting in fall greens and a late planting of green beans or wax beans.  I havent decided yet.

If you have black raspberry plants, now is the time to prune the ends.  Fancy term for hacking off the growing end of each cane.7216 002

Can you see the side shoots coming off the cane?  Each of those will have raspberries on them.  Congratulations!   You have just quadrupled your berry harvest. You have also stopped them from tip rooting, so you can actually keep your row of berries in a …well…a row.  Until it isnt.  Raspberries are pushy that way.July2,2016 006

Those are the pushy raspberries that have to be tamed and brought into submission this fall. I’m going to have little raspberries alllll over the place because those didnt get tip pruned this year.  Thats an easy way to increase your plants, if you want more.  Or lose your yard.

Happy 4th of July weekend everyone!

Cris

 

 

 

